About Technology Governance

Overview: The University Provost and the Executive Vice President/Chief Financial Officer solicit and receive advisement from the Executive Technology Council (ETC). The ETC develops strategy and vision related to technology policies, systems and initiatives to best support the mission of SF State. The Educational Technology Advisory Committee (ETAC) represents University faculty and advises the ETC on academic uses of technology. The Campus Technology Committee (CTC) represents University departments and advises the ETC on technology proposals and implementation of technology initiatives. Faculty technology committees may be formed by college deans to interface with ETAC and technology working sub-committees may be formed by any of the standing committees.


governance board chart


ETC – Executive Technology Council

The ETC defines the technology vision and strategy for SF State. The ETC reviews campus technology initiatives, projects, policies, and procedures; aligns technology priorities with budget and resource conditions; provides input on the agenda for ETAC and CTC; and makes recommendations to the University Provost and the Executive Vice President/Chief Financial Officer regarding campus technology programs and initiatives.

ETC members are appointed and charged by the University Provost and the Executive Vice President/Chief Financial Officer. The ETC convenes monthly, or as needed. ETC members include: Chief Technology Officer and AVP of Information Technology Services, (co-chair); AVP Academic Affairs Operations, Brian Beatty (co-chair); College Dean representative, Kieth Bowman, College of Science and Engineering; AVP Academic Resources, Alan Jung; Sr AVP Enrollment Management, Jo Volkert; Senior Director of Academic Technology and CTC co-chair, Maggie Beers; AVP Fiscal Affairs, Maureen Pasag; Senior AVP Human Resources, Ann Sherman; AVP University Communications, Ellen Griffin; Associate College Dean representative, John P. Elia, College of Health and Social Sciences; CTC co-chair, Assistant VP for Information Technology Services, Nish Malik; and Chair of ETAC, Michael Bar.

ETAC – Educational Technology Advisory Committee

ETAC represents University faculty and advises the ETC on policy and plans for the academic uses of technology. As part of the advisory process, ETAC acts as a liaison between University faculty, administrators, students, staff, and other technology committees, with respect to all aspects of technology related to supporting effective teaching, learning, research and community service. ETAC membership consists of a faculty member from each College appointed by its Dean, and a representative appointed by the unit head of each of the following units: the Library, Academic Technology, the Information Technology Services (ITS), and the Academic Senate. ETAC meets monthly during the academic year. Annually a faculty member is elected to serve as Chair for an academic year. The Chair of ETAC serves as the ETAC liaison to the ETC.

ETAC Membership

CTC – Campus Technology Committee

The Campus Technology Committee (CTC) is co-chaired by the Executive Director of Academic Technology and the Assistant Vice President of ITS, each of who serves as the CTC liaisons to the Executive Technology Committee (ETC). The CTC is composed of representatives from academic, administrative and auxiliary units on campus, as appointed by the appropriate college dean or unit head.
The goals of the CTC are:

  • Provide professional development and networking opportunities for its members and campus constituents regarding technology
  • Provide its members and campus constituents with updates on IT related projects and initiatives.
  • Solicit feedback on campus technology matters, in the form of working groups and town hall events.

CTC members represent their departments, act as liaisons to other departmental staff regarding campus technology matters and collaborate within their departments and across campus to share best practices.

CTC Membership

Information Security

The University Information Security Officer (ISO) presides on all technology committees (ETC, ETAC, and CTC) for information security agenda topics.

Technology Working Sub-Committees

Technology working sub-committees are formed as needed by any of the standing governance committees to perform in-depth research, analysis, evaluation, assessment, or implementation of specific technology issues, systems or solutions. 

Administrative Support

Administrative support for the ETC, ETAC and CTC will be provided by ITS and Academic Technology. Tasks may include scheduling of meetings, calling for agenda items, and recording of meeting minutes, as requested by the chair.